View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Paint for my 1966 13 footer
H_E_Hottell
#1 Print Post
Posted on 08/25/09 - 6:09 PM

Comments: 1

I have a 1966 13 foot Whaler that is getting a complete make over. I have the hull sanded down and primed. I need to know where to go to buy a good quality paint for the hull and the interior that approximates the original colors. I am new at this so any help received will be appreciated.

JPB
#2 Print Post
Posted on 08/25/09 - 6:20 PM
Personal Page

Comments: 0

What kind of primer did you use? Most paint systems have a paint and primer that are matched for each other. I have been very pleased ordering my products from James Town Distributors.

Turpin
#3 Print Post
Posted on 08/26/09 - 2:18 AM
Personal Page
Project Albums

Comments: 20

You might consider AwlGrip it has been used by many on this site and has came highly recommended. I too have used James Town Distributors and found they seem to be about as good of a deal you'll find anywhere.
For any tips on the application, which it can be sprayed or rolled both with ending in excellent finishes, can be found through a search of the site.

1963 13' Sport 50hp Evinrude
Maintaining a level of sanity that is socially acceptable

Binkie
#4 Print Post
Posted on 08/26/09 - 6:08 AM
Personal Page

Comments: 0