View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Refinishing 13' Sport with extreme crazing
orbitranch
#1 Print Post
Posted on 07/07/09 - 10:43 AM

Comments: 0

I'm new to this, Whaler and Boats alike. I recently acquired a 13' Sport which I am unsure of the year. I have many questions which I would appreciate any guidance:

- What year is hull# 13614?
- It has what I believe you call "crazing" over the entire hull and interior. No damage to the foam, but I can sse the fibers through some of the cracks. What is the best way to stabilize any further damage? Not necessarily a full refinish, but something fairly inexpensive where I can enjoy this boat on the water without fear that it will allow water intrusion into the foam?
- I want to refinish it at some point. I'm unsure whether to take it back original or if it would completely kill the value if I took it to another color. My Wife want's it Seafoam Green. What do you guys think?

Again any help is greatly appreciated!

ioptfm
#2 Print Post
Posted on 07/07/09 - 12:09 PM
Personal Page

Comments: 3

welcome aboard! Don't hesitate to ask questions as there is a wealth of knowledge on this site and many more than willing to help
This should help you with the hull# id
http://www.whalercentral.com/articles...icle_id=61

Tom
1979 Sport 15'

Bake
#3 Print Post
Posted on 07/07/09 - 4:03 PM
Personal Page
Project Albums

Comments: 8