View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
New to boating
cmb456
#1 Print Post
Posted on 11/01/19 - 1:05 PM

Comments: 0

Hi,

I just joined this forum. I am new to boating, but I’ve always liked Whalers since I was a kid. I grew up around the beach, but never actually owned a boat.

My question is this: I am considering a 2016 or 2017 Outrage 230 as a first boat. Is this too much boat for a first time owner ? I live in NJ, so my plan is to start first on a lake to gain some experience, then in a few seasons use it in the intercoastal. Can anyone provide some advice/feedback on this.

Thanks

Joe Kriz
#2 Print Post
Posted on 11/01/19 - 2:11 PM
Site Owner
Personal Page
Personal Album
Photo Albums
Project Albums

Comments: 452

Welcome aboard Whaler Central.

That is a large boat but one question I have is this,
Are you going to trailer this boat or leave it in a slip?

If you are going to trailer the boat then you would most likely always need someone to assist launching due to that size of a boat.
Something to consider.

Maybe get a test drive of the boat to see how it feels to you and if you are comfortable maneuvering around.
https://www.bostonwhaler.com/family-o...0-outrage/

Weatherly
#3 Print Post
Posted on 11/01/19 - 2:14 PM

Comments: 4

I agree with Joe. A 23 footer is too big, especially as a first time boat owner. I recommend you look for a good condition used Montauk 17 boat, you may like it so much that it will be your first and last boat you ever buy.

cmb456
#4 Print Post
Posted on 11/01/19 - 2:41 PM