View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
1993 Whaler Gelcoat protection/shine
NBwhaler93
#1 Print Post
Posted on 08/06/14 - 3:35 PM

Comments: 0

Newbie here on this forum:
Asking for recommendations on how to protect/buff/wax the white gelcoat.
I tried wax first; fail.
I then went to compound; fail.
It appears the gelcoat hasn't been treated, well since maybe ever. When I attempted to compound it, the hull literally sucked the compound up and I had to work like hell to get most of the color of the compound out. (luckily I had only done a small area)
Any and all recommendations would be great....
Thanks in advance

1993 17 Montauk

Edited by Joe Kriz on 08/06/14 - 4:38 PM

dougt
#2 Print Post
Posted on 08/06/14 - 4:44 PM
Personal Page

I had good luck with 3M Restore. Amazon
I tried some rubbing compound that I had for my cars, but didn't touch it.
The restore is pretty aggressive and will cut through the oxidation.

Doug

1996 Sport GLS 13' - 1996 Johnson 40hp, 2 Stroke

NBwhaler93
#3 Print Post
Posted on 08/06/14 - 6:08 PM

Thanks; will try.
Ive worked at marinas/boatyards for years and have never seen the neglect im dealing with. Im also at the end of diagnosing the neglected electrical system. gonna have to rewire it. but that's a whole different forum discussion Ive wanted to start but its taken me a week to figure out where. lol

Phil T
#4 Print Post
Posted on 08/07/14 - 6:03 AM
Administrator
Personal Page
Personal Album
Project Albums

Comments: 6