View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Drain Tube Replacement Suggestions
mct
#1 Print Post
Posted on 09/03/10 - 7:54 AM
Personal Page

Comments: 0

I have a 1987 18' Outrage. I am replacing the drain tube in the bilge area. I have replaced other tubes using the procedures discussed on this site with good results (also have had lots of practice), but this is my first time with this tube and dealing with the angle on the bottom of the hull. I have also read the posts which address the angle issue. I am using a threaded flaring tool. After flaring one end and getting the tube in place, in order to have enough tube to capture the o ring on the "short" side I have too much tube to get a good seal on the "long" side. I tried using a ball peen hammer to flare the long side to finish the flare, but I did not like the result. Also, in light of the tools that I have to work with, I am not able to customize the flaring tool. I am going to attempt to cut the tube at angle and use a smaller thread; notwithstanding, if folks have any suggestions on how to deal with the angle I would be appreciate them. Any tricks to keeping the o ring in place if I shorten the amount of tube I am working with on the short side?

JohnnyCW
#2 Print Post
Posted on 09/03/10 - 8:05 AM

Did you use the ball peen hammer to actually hammer the tube or did you hold the ball peen to the tube and hit the flat end with another hammer? The latter offers much more control and usually a satisfactory result. Can still take practice though.

mct
#3 Print Post
Posted on 09/03/10 - 8:22 AM