View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
restoring 1968 17' with severe cracks in gelcoat
gsmith
#1 Print Post
Posted on 07/19/10 - 2:39 PM

Comments: 0

Hey all, I am new to whaler central, but I sure do need a lot of info about restroing the hull with so many cracks. The boat is in perfect shape structurally but I will have to redo the entire hull. I have done some sanding and the cracks go all the way thru the existing gelcoat. what I mean is I have to sand all the way to mat before the cracks are gone. Is there any way to refinish without having to sand off all the existing gelcoat, and should I go back with gelcoat or paint. thanks for the help!

rvschulz
#2 Print Post
Posted on 07/20/10 - 8:29 AM
Personal Page

Comments: 0

what i am doing is sanding down to cracks are nominal in some cases. i have gelcoated the scrapes and punctures and spots where fiberglass has not gel coat. at that point, i plan to paint with a really good polyurethane paint to get it smoothed out.

zappaddles
#3 Print Post
Posted on 07/20/10 - 9:29 AM

Comments: 2