View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Newbie Whaler Wannabe question
Bergermeister
#1 Print Post
Posted on 07/15/10 - 3:38 PM

Comments: 0

Hey Everyone,

I'm finally ready to buy my first boat and would like it to be a Whaler. I live up in New England (Massachusetts). I was told by a guy at a boat show that I should drive down to Florida and buy my boat there as there are so many boat dealers that I will save thousands of dollars vs. what folks pay up here since there are not so many dealers.

Is this true about the huge savings?

Actually as a newbie, I would like to buy a boat thats just a few years old and around 20-23 ft as I would have to tow it. Slips up here are very expensive and very hard to come by. I will be using the boat for diving and towing the kids around on tubes.

What can you experienced guys tell me?

Thanks so much!

B

John Fyke
#2 Print Post
Posted on 07/15/10 - 6:28 PM
Personal Page

You should consider the condition not the location. Many salt water boats have too much corrosion on the motors. You may get lucky as I have but the search is long and hard. Don't think for a second that plentiful will save you money in the long run. It won't. Look for something that is clean and have it surveyed.

John Fyke
Re-Fit or Reef It
1979 15' Sport with Super Sport conversion and 70hp mercury.

ioptfm
#3 Print Post
Posted on 07/15/10 - 6:39 PM
Personal Page

Comments: 3