View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Bottom Paint Recommendation
jmerry
#1 Print Post
Posted on 08/01/16 - 6:09 PM

Comments: 0

I know that there are probably pieces of information scattered around in various posts regarding my question, but I'd like to get some specific feedback for my situation. I'm a novice painter, so I don't want to mess this up. Thanks in advance for any thoughts / recommendations.

I purchased an immaculate 2012 Boston Whaler Montauk 150 with thinning black ablative bottom paint. From what I can tell, the boat never sat in the water, but previous owner had it painted "just in case" - and has never been in salt. That said, I'd considered removing it, but I know that would be a huge job - and I know that they probably lightly scored the hull for adherence and getting it back to shiny glass would be a lot of trouble. I do, however, like the contrasting appearance of the black, so think a hard, durable, slick gloss epoxy would be the simplest ticket.

The boat will NEVER sit in the water and will always be trailered to and from the lake. Garage kept and will likely never see salt, as we're situated in the north Georgia mountains and is used primarily for striper fishing.