View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Older Whaler Market Value - 1969 Minot
Brian Reynolds
#1 Print Post
Posted on 07/31/16 - 2:57 PM

Comments: 0

I am a marine surveyor and recently was asked to provide an appraisal value on a 1969 Boston Whaler Minot, a 16' 7" vessel. I have searched my usual sites and the internet and the figures are all over the place. Local dealers have not been helpful. I have seen them advertised on the internet from over $9,000 to $5,000 plus. The boat is in poor condition with crazing all over the exterior of the hull and some amount inside. There is an improperly repaired section of fiberglass on starboard side of transom. HIN # was not available (I did not see a tag or marking) and it appears prior owner got a HIN # from NJ DMV so they could obtain a title that is now located on top side of transom, port side. The hull stencil is visible on inside of transom. Boat was checked with moisture meter and the transom and a good portion of the aft end of vessel peg the moisture meter at "wet" readings. There is an older 70 hp Evinrude on the back in fair condition but I am not concerned putting a value on it. This vessel falls outside the realm of what I normally look at and am hoping some of you Whaler experts can help me with a decent appraisal value. I assume because of the age, this boat may now be considered a "classic" and may well be worth a great deal more than I originally believed. I would very much appreciate the assistance from anyone on this forum.

Thank you!

Phil T
#2 Print Post
Posted on 08/01/16 - 6:33 AM