View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Center console install help!
ffohcyaw
#1 Print Post
Posted on 04/27/16 - 9:07 PM

Comments: 0

Newbie here seeking help with installation of center console [haven't been able to find any resources, apologies if this has already been posted somewhere]...

I have a 17' whaler montauk that for some reason doesn't have a center console, hence I would like to install one. My questions are:

1. How do I drill into the hull, i.e. how can I be sure I'm drilling into the correct places with proper structural support??

2. Do I simply 5200 around the perimeter of the console to ensure adequate water seal?

3. What about rerouting steering cabling from engine, I assume I'll need a new cable? Any suggestions here?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for all the help

mtown
#2 Print Post
Posted on 04/28/16 - 4:27 AM
Personal Page

Comments: 5

Go to site map and see download section. Wood locating diagrams are there. There is also deck layout showing console location.
Also there is an article on steering cable length.

I would not use 5200 at all. Putting a flexible sealant in the screw holes would be better. The screws will be hitting wood substrate if placed properly.

ffohcyaw
#3 Print Post
Posted on 04/28/16 - 5:31 AM

Will do; thanks for the reply!

porthole2
#4 Print Post
Posted on 04/28/16 - 7:24 AM
Personal Page

Comments: 1

Cleats on the deck then screw the console in from the sides.

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l17...tgzikp.jpg

Edited by porthole2 on 04/28/16 - 7:25 AM
Thanks, Duane